The Maryland Native Plant Society

The Maryland Native Plant Society

Botanical Heritage Work Group

The Maryland Botanical Heritage Work Group was created in June 2013 (Chapter 655, Acts of 2013) to prepare a report to the General Assembly and the Governor that would define challenges, explore opportunities and make recommendations for the “preservation of plant species native to the State and the region.” 

Work Group Members

  • Kirsten Johnson, Chair, Maryland Native Plant Society
  • Denise Clearwater, Maryland Department of the Environment
  • Anne Frances, PhD, NatureServe
  • Christopher Frye, State Botanist, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
  • Wesley Knapp, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
  • Karen Montgomery, Maryland State Senate
  • Charles Rhodehamel, Columbia Association
  • Shane Robinson, Maryland House of Delegates
  • Jil Swearingen, Plant Conservation Alliance
  • Sara Tangren, PhD
  • Robert Trumbule, Maryland Department of Agriculture
  • Kevin Wilsey, Maryland State Highway Administration

Table Of Contents

Executive Summary and Recommendations

Maryland’s Unique Biodiversity

The Rapid Loss of Maryland’s Native Plants and the Wildlife that Depends on Them



Did you know...

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software